Our Partners

Back to Partners



The Commission for University Education (CUE) is a public service organization established in 1985 by an Act of Parliament, Universities Act, CAP 210B as the sole regulatory agency for planning and coordinating the growth and expansion of university education in Kenya. The Commission is a specialized government agency whose parent Ministry is the Ministry of Education, Science & Technology.

The members of the Commission for Higher Education are appointed by the Government under Section 4 of the Universities Act Cap 210 B of 1985 and consist of 28 members. Current members are appointed from Vice- Chancellors of the publicand private universities, Permanent Secretaries of Ministries including Education Science and Technology, National Treasury and Public Service.  Other members are individually appointed to represent the civil society and professionals. The term of office is a maximum of five (5) years and they are eligible for re-appointment. The Commission’s  Chief Executive Officer is the Secretary to the Commission.

The functions of the Commission for University Education (CUE) can be summarized as follows:

  •  Accreditation and regular re-inspection of universities;
  • Planning for the establishment and development of higher education and training;
  • Mobilisation of resources for higher education and training; and
  • Documentation, information service and public relations for higher education and training.




Link: Read More

Back to Partners